Keepin’ It Real

April 24, 2007

Hillary Likens Herself to Harriet Tubman!

Filed under: Hillary!,Politics — mary @ 11:21 am

According to the New York Daily News. Hillary Clinton had a fundraiser in New York last night, where she compared her fight for the White House with Harriet Tubman’s courageous and dangerous travels on the Underground Railroad to bring escaped slaves to freedom:

Hillary Clinton invoked Harriet Tubman at a mega-fund-raiser last night, telling young supporters she’d fight to “take back the White House” just as the escaped slave fought to free others.

The Democratic presidential hopeful brought out the whole family for the “low-dollar” event at the West Side’s Pier 94. But Bill Clinton and their daughter, Chelsea, left the limelight to the candidate, who found herself struggling with a faulty microphone.

“This reminds me of one of my favorite American heroines, Harriet Tubman,” the senator told 1,800 cheering supporters when her mike was restored.

“She made it to freedom after having been a slave and she got to New York and she could have been so happy . . . but she kept going back down South to bring other freed slaves to freedom.

“And she used to say, ‘No matter what happens, keep going,’ ” Hillary Clinton said. “So we’re going to keep going until we take back the White House!”

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/wn_report/2007/04/24/2007-04-24_ill_fight_like_harriet_tubman_hil_tells_.html

I couldn’t confirm the particular quote that Mrs. Clinton used as coming from Harriet Tubman (and I am skeptical considering Mrs. Clinton for years claimed to be named after Sir Edmund Hillary), but I did find several quotes by Harriet Tubman that are apropos:

I had reasoned this out in my mind, there was one of two things I had a right to, liberty or death; if I could not have one, I would have the other.

I would fight for my liberty so long as my strength lasted, and if the time came for me to go, the Lord would let them take me.

Lord, I’m going to hold steady on to You and You’ve got to see me through.

http://www.brainyquote.com/quotes/authors/h/harriet_tubman.html

These are the words of a truly brave woman. It is appalling that a woman who has always lived in the lap of luxury, never having truly risked her life or her comfort for anything, would cheapen Harriet Tubman’s memory by comparing Tubman’s brave and selfless actions to her own run for the presidency. This from a woman who doesn’t even have the courage to stand by her Iraq vote.

1 Comment »

  1. I agree with your views on Hillary Clinton. She associates with the wealthiest Americans, then steals the words of a heroic woman to pretend that she, Hillary Rodham Clinton, is as virtuous a role model.

    Comment by Sheldon — April 24, 2007 @ 12:43 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

