Keepin’ It Real

June 21, 2007

I got tagged!

Filed under: Uncategorized — mary @ 11:30 pm

Okay Lew, I’m playing along! Lew over at Right in a Left World tagged me, so rather than discuss my disgust at Jimmy Carter’s comments regarding the US’s failure to fund Hamas while funding Fatah, I’ll play along instead.

Here are the questions and answers:

1) Name your favorite band and singer. (The singer can’t be from the band)

Favorite band – I can’t decide, so here are my favorites: Earth Wind and Fire, The Doobie Brothers, the Monkees (I know fake band, but they remind me of being a little kid), and The Academy of St. Martin in the Fields (chamber orchestra)

Favorite singer – Another one with multiple answers. I am a singer and have far too many singers whom I love to leave anyone out. Rita Streich (German coloratura soprano), Mady Mesple (French coloratura soprano), Arleen Auger (American soprano), Beverly Sills (American coloratura soprano, who knew how to have fun), Paul Simon (not a coloratura soprano), and young Elton John. I could name many more, but have already sooo broken the rules.

2) Favorite historical politician (domestic)? (Historical = Dead)

James Madison and Abraham Lincoln

3) Favorite historical politician (International)?

Winston Churchill

4) You’re giving a Hollywood pitch (25 words or less) about your Blog — GO

Don’t try to pull the wool over my eyes, I’ll keep calling you on it. If I could blog about classical singers I would, but no one would come.

5) Other then where you live now, what city do you like?

Florence and Venice, Italy. Amelia Island, Florida, Boston.

6) Favorite modern politician? (In office now)

John Howard of Australia

7) Are you a Wilsonian Idealist or Nixonian Realist in foreign policy?

Nixonian Realist

8) Favorite obscure movie?

Big Night (1996) and Now Voyager (1942)

9) What is your favorite restaurant?

I wish I could remember the name of it. It was a tiny family restaurant in Florence, where the owner and I had a lovely chat and he served us wine from hims familiy’s vinyard. It was perfect in every way.

10) Choose a music video on YouTube. Why that one?

Okay, I choose 3 (as usual), because they are all wonderful. The first is The Benedictus from Mozart’s Requiem with a sublime performance by soprano Arleen Auger, who was a master performer of Mozart, along with the mezzo, Cecilia Bartoli, tenor Vinson Cole and bass Rene Pape. Sir George Solti is conducting. Mozart is my absolute favorite composer and his Requiem is truly a work of art. In my opinion, the purity of Arleen Auger’s voice and her sensitive musical interpretation make this just a wonderful performance.

Next, the final trio from Richard Strauss’ Der Rosenkavalier. It is just one of my favorite pieces which musically contrasts the sadness of the aging Countess losing her lover to a younger rival with the anticipation of love of the new young couple. This clip is from a Metropolitian Opera Gala and features soprano Elisabeth Soderstrom as the Countess, mezzo Frederica Von Stade as Octavian, and soprano Kathleen Battle as Sophie. James Levine conducts. The climax of this piece just is incredible.

And, finally, “You Can Call Me Al” from Paul Simon’s Graceland album. It makes me smile every time I see it.

ETA

Another video, because I couldn’t leave it out: Paul Simon’s Father and Daughter, because there is nothing better for a little girl (or a grown woman) than her dad:

There, I’m sure I bored everyone to tears.

There you go Lew!

Here’s Lew’s Post: http://rightinaleftworld.blogspot.com/2007/06/i-got-tagged.html

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

